Chocolate & Caramel Marble Cake | Easter Baking

Easter is one of my favourite times of year for baking, and every year and I try and come up with something new for my family to try out. This year I came up with this twist on a classic marble cake…

Ever since I watched the Comic Relief Bake Off a few months ago (LOVE that programme) I’ve been meaning to try out a marble cake recipe, and after testing one a few weeks ago it certainly went down a storm in my house. So for Easter, I’ve decided to mix it up a bit and add some caramel flavouring and some chocolate goodies on top – obvs.

IMG_2727

INGREDIENTS:

225g butter or margarine

225g caster sugar

4 eggs

225g self-raising flour

2 tbsp cocoa powder

1tsp caramel flavouring

PicMonkey Collage

METHOD:

1. This recipe is based on a basic sponge – simply cream together the butter and sugar, stir in the eggs, and then mix in the flour until smooth.

2. Next, split the mixture into two bowls – one bowl will be the chocolate (so add the cocoa) and the other caramel (so add the flavouring).

3. Once you have your two mixtures, it’s time to start marbling. Most people tend to just pour the two into one cake tin and swirl them together, however the perfectionist in me likes to be more organised about it (surprise, surprise). I like to place little dollops of mixture in an alternate pattern, with two layers on top of eachother, and then use a knife to swirl until the desired effect. I find that this creates the most impressive marble effect, but use whatever technique you prefer!

4. Then simply pop in the oven at 180 degrees for about 40-45 minutes. Try and keep an eye on it to ensure that the top doesn’t burn, but when it’s done it should be slightly golden on top.

IMG_2753

Once the cake has finished cooking it should look like the image above – pretty impressive for such a simple recipe, eh? It looks great as it is, but if you want you can always add some chocolate goodies on top for extra oomph.

Hopefully this gave a little inspiration for some Easter baking, let me know if you try it out! 🙂

Amy x

Author: Amy Writes

I'm Amy, a full time languages student, part time blogger and full time brunch addict. This blog is where I like to share my three favourite things: food, travel and writing. I enjoy taking care of my little internet space, and I hope you enjoy reading it!

3 thoughts on “Chocolate & Caramel Marble Cake | Easter Baking”

Leave a comment