Hot Chocolate Fudge Cake

This kind of turned out like a huge whoopie pie – not that I’m complaining! With the addition of whipped cream, raspberries and thin layers of sponge, this hot chocolate inspired cake can actually make for a great summer dessert. It certainly went down well in my house yesterday!

IMG_2873

Here I only made two layers, however if you wanted to bulk this cake up a bit you could easily add more by doubling the recipe!

IMG_2877

INGREDIENTS:

3 eggs

85g caster sugar

85g plain flour

2 tbsp cocoa powder

200ml double cream

225g ready made chocolate fudge frosting

raspberries and chocolate curls (to decorate)

IMG_2877

METHOD:

1. Preheat the oven to 200°C and line your cake tins with baking paper.

2. Start by whisking together the eggs and sugar in a large bowl for 3-4 minutes using an electric whisk. The end result should be a pale and thick mixture.

3. Sift in the flour and cocoa powder, then fold in gently so as not to lose all of the air from the mixture. Then pour equally into separate tins and bake for 8-10 minutes. Whilst the sponge is baking whip the cream until it holds firm peaks.

4. Once the sponge is finished baking allow it to cool completely – otherwise the cream will melt off! When it’s cool you are free to assemble it. Here I filled the middle layer with whipped cream as I feel it captures the ‘hot chocolate’ theme, and then topped it with fudge frosting and these cute chocolate curls. The raspberries added a nice pop of colour and bite aswell. Obviously you can assemble this however you like, baking is about being creative after all!

I love this recipe – and so did the rest of my family! – so I’d definitely recommend trying this out as it’s so simple but looks really impressive. Happy baking!

Amy x

Author: Amy Writes

I'm Amy, a full time languages student, part time blogger and full time brunch addict. This blog is where I like to share my three favourite things: food, travel and writing. I enjoy taking care of my little internet space, and I hope you enjoy reading it!

Leave a comment