My Favourite Oat & Raisin Cookies

I think we can all guess by now that I’m a bit of a biscuit-obsessive, but I do love a good cookie every now and then. And one cookie I think is majorly underrated is the humble oat and raisin variety – soft and chewy, with the added crunch of the oats and the sweetness of the raisins. The ultimate comfort snack.

I’ve tried many different recipes in my time, but I think I’ve finally cracked it. This recipe is as fool-proof as it gets, takes hardly any time at all and really hits the spot. I made these just last night and there were only four left for me to photograph this morning!

IMG_4582.jpg

INGREDIENTS:

115g unsalted butter

125g soft light brown sugar

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla extract (or any other flavouring you like!)

95g plain flour

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1/2 tsp cinnamon

120g oats

120g raisins

IMG_4586

METHOD:

  1. Start by creaming together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, and then slowly whisk in the eggs and vanilla. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, bicarb and cinnamon. Slowly add this to the wet mixture, combining thoroughly after each addition until you have a very soft dough texture. Add in your oats and raisins.
  2. Preheat your oven to 180°C and line two baking trays with greaseproof paper. Roll the mixture into walnut-sized balls with your hands, and then press down onto the baking tray, flattening them with your palm. Try to keep them spaced out, they tend to grow a bit!
  3. Bake for 10-12 minutes until lightly browned on top. I like mine quite soft and chewy, but you are free to bake them a little longer if you prefer some crunch!

IMG_4588.jpg

And it’s that simple! These are so easy to make yet so delicious, perfect for a lazy Sunday afternoon with the family. They certainly go down a treat! Let me know if you try them out, happy baking 🙂

Amy x

Author: Amy Writes

I'm Amy, a full time languages student, part time blogger and full time brunch addict. This blog is where I like to share my three favourite things: food, travel and writing. I enjoy taking care of my little internet space, and I hope you enjoy reading it!

Leave a comment