A Weekend by the Sea

My family has had a static caravan in Pembrokeshire, West Wales, pretty much since I was born. I spent a large amount of my childhood there and as a result have made so many memories there, however in the last few years I’ve only been back one or two times.

IMG_9378

There are countless reasons why I don’t come back to West Wales as often now – as I got older I began to get bored of having no internet connection and being away from friends at home, and when A Levels and then University started I just didn’t have as much time.

This August bank holiday, however, my Dad really wanted to spend a weekend at the caravan and so Lewis and I decided to join him. It wasn’t until I stepped out of the car after a two hour journey and breathed in the fresh sea air that I realised how much I’d missed it.

IMG_9388.jpg

As the weeks count down to my second year at Uni I’ve been feeling more and more stressed and anxious about the year ahead, but as soon as we arrived in Nolton Haven – a place which has pretty much been a second home to me – I felt all those worries just drop away into the background.

Having a proper break away from the internet and social media did me so much good – I didn’t realise how much I needed it! – as well as spending some time with the people I love in the most beautiful setting.

IMG_9389

Having spent most of the summer in Spain exploring the amazing city of Madrid, it’s easy to forget how beautiful my own country can be. This bank holiday we were blessed with beautiful sunny weather – something that doesn’t happen often here in the UK! – and it really showcased the Pembrokeshire coast in the best light. Just look at the colour of the sea!

IMG_9400

Last week I’d bought a new camera lens and was very eager to try it out – luckily I was given the perfect view to photograph. Turns out you don’t need to leave the country to get some beautiful photos!

IMG_9401

These photos were taken on the Saturday as we walked along the coastline down to the neighbouring Druidstone beach – something that we used to do quite often when I was younger. The views from the cliffs were just stunning, and so fun to photograph.

IMG_9411

IMG_9415

After a walk along the beach, we headed up to the Druidstone Hotel for some drinks – which we’d definitely earned after that walk! – and to sit and relax in the sun.

IMG_9433.jpg

The grounds of the hotel are really beautiful but also really fun and unique – I’d definitely recommend a visit there if you’re ever in the area!

IMG_9444.jpg

It was also lovely to have my dog Lola there with us for the weekend – being at Uni means I don’t get to see her very often so I really enjoyed being able to take her for walks and have a little cuddle in the evenings. I’ve missed having a dog around so much!

IMG_9445.jpg

All in all, having a weekend by the Pembrokeshire seaside did me a world of good – I’ve come back ready to hit the gym, prepare for Uni and just get my whole life together in general. Hopefully this feeling lasts!

 

Amy x

Author: Amy Writes

I'm Amy, a full time languages student, part time blogger and full time brunch addict. This blog is where I like to share my three favourite things: food, travel and writing. I enjoy taking care of my little internet space, and I hope you enjoy reading it!

4 thoughts on “A Weekend by the Sea”

  1. Currently holidaying in Pembrokeshire as well, just down the road from Druidstone! I haven’t been here since I was too young to remember but it’s such a nice relaxing little place. Glad you had a nice time too, photo’s look great!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment